Sandy

Sandy-358Age: 22
Ethnicity: Taiwanese
Astrological Sign: Sagittarius
Studying: Graduated with a B.Com from UBC Sauder School of Business
Last Fashion Purchase: A necklace and boyfriend jeans from Topshop (and it was on sale!)
Name of Film Star I’d Love to Date: Been the same since the fifth grade- Johnny Depp <3
Favourite Restaurant/Dish: Siddharthas Indian Kitchen on Commercial Drive has the best spinach curry with mango naan!
Favourite Vancouver Attraction: I love walking along the seawall on sunny days, exploring Stanley Park and lying on all our amazing beaches. I live at UBC so there is one beach in particular you can find me at 😉
One Thing I’d Love to Try in Vancouver: I haven’t been ziplining in Whistler yet! Does that count as Vancouver? I can’t think of anything I haven’t done in the city already.
Favourite Nightspot: This is tough because I like my bed during nighttime! But lately I’ve been around Gastown a lot… So I’ll go with Pourhouse
Item I Can’t Leave Home Without: Burts Bees Pomegranate Lip Balm!!!!! I’ll die without it.
Beauty Tip: I love drinking tons of water, especially during the summer, and you can infuse it with cucumbers, mint, lemon or whatever you’d like! Also, I try not to wear makeup too often to let your skin breathe (and I swear by Lush products!). I have to wear really heavy makeup for dance, cheering or photoshoots, so during the day at work you will most likely catch me with no makeup on.
Gym, Spa or Sport? I will always choose running outside over the gym, but during winter I’ll go on the treadmill. And what girl doesn’t like the spa?!
Hobbies: I can’t imagine my life without dancing! I started ballet at age 3 and quickly learned jazz, tap, hip hop, lyrical, modern, contemporary and musical theatre. Now I perform with a street jazz group as well as cheerlead for the Lions. Other than dance, I love to watch movies, bum around on the beach, do yoga, hike, shop… all those things!
Achievements: In terms of school, I graduated with high grades and was accepted into Sauder with numerous scholarships. Then I was able to finish my degree while working full-time at my current job and I’ve been there for a little over two and a half years now. Dance-wise, I was awarded with many trophies and certificates from dance competitions throughout the province. I am designated with the AIDT (Association of International Dance Teachers) in two levels and I was awarded with “Honours with Distinction – over 95%” marks for both. But I think my biggest achievement is learning how to find a balance between working all my different jobs, having a social life and also finding time with my family.
Career Goal: I love my job right now and I hope to continue with the company for many years! I also want to continue dancing throughout my entire life.

Makeup done by: Luna Lin
Venue sponsor: The Waterfall Building (www.thewaterfallbuilding.com)